MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, July 11, 2006, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Brent Patton, with the following members present: Brent Patton, Pieter Schmidt, Andy Morgan, Rick Asaturian, Jim Kelly, Belinda Hill and John Longueville. Others present were Lori James-Gross, April Haar, Jim Berezow, Bill Laser, Fran Voss, Kay Eckiss, Bob Manier, Mike Gholson, Terry Gholson, Tammy Bailey-Smith, Susan Bily, Kerry Glenn, Salina Holloway, Debbie Gurley, Samantha Hunt, David Hunt, Ryan Hunt, Stephanie Leek and Crystal Phillips.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Jim Kelly to approve the Agenda with omission of "Authorize loan from Working Cash Fund to IMRF Fund, if needed." Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan made the motion, seconded by Pieter Schmidt to approve the minutes of the June 13, 2006 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by John Longueville, seconded by Andy Morgan to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Brent Patton recognized guests and visitors that were present.

Lori James-Gross indicated a thank you note was in each Board member's packet from Joellen Sullivan. expressing appreciation for the gift card received during the recent birth of her daughter.

John Longueville made the motion, seconded by Jim Kelly to select Interstate Brands, Prairie Farms Dairy and Hines Oil Co. as supplier of bread, milk and diesel fuel respectively for the 2006-2007 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Pieter Schmidt made the motion, seconded by Belinda Hill to permanently transfer \$45,583.01 from Site & Construction Fund to Building Fund effective June 30, 2006. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Bill Laser presented the end of year financial report, per attached.

A motion was made by John Longueville, seconded by Belinda Hill to approve the Application for Approval for Use of New Temporary Facility for the 2005-2006 and 2006-2007 school years concerning the portable classroom buildings. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Belinda Hill made the motion, seconded by Pieter Schmidt to adjourn the Board for an Executive Session to consider potential litigation and information regarding the appointment, employment or dismissal of an employee or officer at 6:20 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Jim Kelly made the motion, seconded by Belinda Hill to resume regular session at 7:25 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by John Longueville, seconded by Jim Kelly to approve the minutes of the July 11, 2006 Executive Session meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Pieter Schmidt to accept the resignation of Angel Marjanovich effective immediately, with regrets and thanks for a job well done. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Pieter Schmidt made the motion, seconded by Belinda Hill to employ Kathy Harasimowicz as fourth grade teacher; Samantha Hunt as fifth grade teacher and cheerleading sponsor; and Stephanie Leek as junior high

BOARD MINUTES July 11, 2006 Page 2

literature teacher for the 2006-2007 school year, contingent upon proper certification. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Belinda Hill, seconded by Jim Kelly to employ April Haar as elementary principal effective August 1, 2006, contingent upon proper certification. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

John Longueville made the motion, seconded by Belinda Hill to contractually employ Sharon Burris as interim Superintendent for July 2006 for approximately two days per week. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan made the motion, seconded by Jim Kelly to approve a contractual arrangement with Tri-County Special Education District to employ Jan Eisenhard as social worker for the 2006-2007 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by John Longueville, seconded by Pieter Schmidt to employ Molly Andrew, Grace Brewer (.50 FTE), Paula Arthur, Sarah Dorsey, Melanie Spears, Christine Laser, Crystal Phillips (.50 FTE), Winona Bilderback, Sara Partridge (.50 FTE), Chris Bittle, Susan Culton, Michelle Giritharan, Kim Davidson (.50 FTE) and Therese Page as teacher aides; and Glenda Heern as library assistant and Alma Gomez as bilingual assistant for the 2006-2007 school year, per Superintendent's recommendation. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Discussion was held concerning the upcoming IASB Conference in November 2006. New board members were encouraged to attend.

Belinda Hill made the motion, seconded by Pieter Schmidt to adjourn the meeting at 7:35 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Brent Patton	, President		