MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Wednesday, May 9, 2007, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Brent Patton, with the following members present: Brent Patton, Pieter Schmidt, Rick Asaturian, Andy Morgan, Jim Kelly, Belinda Hill and John Longueville. Others present were Lori James-Gross, Jim Berezow, April Haar, Bill Laser, Susan Adorjan, Tammy Lipe, Bea Geraci, Debbie Gurley, Vicki Mogharreban, Gene Turk, Chuck Cremeens, Shannon Cremeens, Kerry Glenn, Alisa Simpson, Fran Voss, Bruce Shingleton, Sandy Charlson, Tom Westrup, Kay Eckiss, Bob Manier and Mike Wright.

John Longueville made the motion, seconded by Belinda Hill to approve the Agenda. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan made the motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to approve the minutes of the April 11, 2007 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Brent Patton recognized guests and visitors that were present.

A motion was made by Jim Kelly, seconded by John Longueville to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross indicated several students excelled in the Reading Rainbows Young Authors contest recently held, with one advancing to national competition. Jim Berezow indicated four junior high students placed high in the Southern Illinois Reading Council Short Story contest recently held. Junior High students placed third in the State Science Fair competition recently held winning sixteen gold and six special science project awards. Lori James-Gross indicated correspondence was received from the family of Art Vincent expressing appreciation for the memorial given during the recent death in the family. Correspondence was received from Vicki Mogharreban regarding the "Heart of the Affiliate" award recently given to Michele Pritchard. Correspondence was received from Susan Pimentel expressing appreciation to Joellen Sullivan for organizing the "Taste of UP" night.

Lori James-Gross indicated Board self-evaluation results were in each Board member's packet.

John Longueville made the motion, seconded by Belinda Hill to approve reductions-in-force for positions of Pre-K EOC Aide and Third Grade Instructional Aide for the 2007-2008 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Brent Patton explained procedures for nominating president and secretary pro-tempore and seating new board members. Brent Patton, John Longueville and Belinda Hill reflected on their service as board members. Debbie Gurley and Bob Manier expressed appreciation to Brent, John and Belinda for their years of service on the Board. Pieter Schmidt and Lori James-Gross presented gifts to each retiring board member.

Jim Kelly was nominated president pro-tempore by mutual agreement. Rick Asaturian was nominated secretary pro-tempore by mutual agreement.

John Longueville made the motion, seconded by Belinda Hill to adjourn the Board sine die at 6:35 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Pieter Schmidt, President	
Rick Asaturian, Secretary	