MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Wednesday, May 9, 2007, 6:41 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:41 p.m. by the president pro-tempore, Jim Kelly, with the following members present: Jim Kelly, Pieter Schmidt, Rick Asaturian, Andy Morgan, Shannon Cremeens, Sandy Charlson and Gene Turk. Others present were Lori James-Gross, Jim Berezow, April Haar, Bill Laser, Susan Adorjan, Tammy Lipe, Bea Geraci, Debbie Gurley, Vicki Mogharreban, Gene Turk, Chuck Cremeens, Shannon Cremeens, Kerry Glenn, Alisa Simpson, Fran Voss, Bruce Shingleton, Sandy Charlson, Tom Westrup, Kay Eckiss, Bob Manier and Mike Wright.

Jim Kelly administered the Oath of Office to newly elected board members, Gene Turk, Shannon Cremeens and Sandy Charlson,

Nominations were opened for President of the Board of Education.

Gene Turk nominated Pieter Schmidt as President of the Board of Education. There being no other nominations, Pieter Schmidt was elected President by acclamation.

Nominations were opened for Vice President of the Board of Education.

Pieter Schmidt nominated Andy Morgan as Vice President of the Board of Education. There being no other nominations, Andy Morgan was elected Vice President by acclamation.

Nominations were opened for Secretary of the Board of Education.

Gene Turk nominated Rick Asaturian as Secretary of the Board of Education. There being no other nominations, Rick Asaturian was elected Secretary by acclamation.

It was the consensus of the Board to set meeting dates on the second Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m.

Jim Kelly made the motion, seconded by Andy Morgan to adopt Board Policies as established by the previous Board of Education. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Shannon Cremeens to approve the Agenda. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross indicated the Illinois Clean Energy Lighting Grant was recently awarded to Unity Point School in the amount of \$1752.00. This grant will be used for library upgrades and should bring substantial savings in electricity costs due to more efficient lighting.

A motion was made by Jim Kelly, seconded by Gene Turk to approve the Intergovernmental Agreement with the COPE Safe School for the 2007-2008 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Pieter Schmidt made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the Student Teacher Resolution with SIU for the 2007-2008 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Shannon Cremeens made the motion, seconded by Andy Morgan to offer student accident insurance from Markel Insurance Co. and Gerlock & Associates for the 2007-2008 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

BOARD MINUTES May 9, 2007 Page 2

Lori James-Gross presented information concerning the Qualified Zone Academy Bonds program. Tom Westrup of North by Northwest Capital presented an overview which consists of an interest free loan for technology and infrastructure upgrades. A local 10% in-kind match would be required. Lori James-Gross and Bea Geraci presented the proposed budget of approximately \$1,000,000 if the program is awarded by the State.

A motion was made by Jim Kelly, seconded by Andy Morgan to adopt the Resolution authorizing application for the qualified zone academy bond program. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross presented information concerning the School Health Action Plan for the 2007-2008 school year, per attached. This Plan outlines procedures necessary to begin implementation of the wellness program. Sandy Charlson volunteered to serve on the Committee overseeing the plan.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Andy Morgan to adjourn the Board for an Executive Session to consider information regarding the appointment, employment or dismissal of an employee or officer at 7:53 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to resume regular session at 8:18 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Jim Kelly, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the minutes of the May 9, 2007 Executive Session meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Jim Kelly made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve reductions-in-force for Katie Rowland as Pre-K EOC Aide and Nicole Mileur as 3rd Grade Instructional Aide for the 2007-2008 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to accept the resignations of Jamie Ruch as Baby Talk Program Aide; Lenore Keller as instructional aide; and Bob Manier as computer teacher, effective end of the 2006-2007 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Gene Turk, seconded by Sandy Charlson to employ Lindsey Townsend as Junior High Special Ed Teacher, contingent upon proper certification; and Nicole Mileur as ½ time Baby Talk Aide for the 2007-2008 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Bob Manier of the U.P.E.A. expressed appreciation for his years of service at Unity Point School. Mike Wright will be president and Izetta Wiggs vice-president for the 2007-2008 school year.

Jim Berezow indicated the EXCEL program reception was held earlier tonight and graduation will be held on May 17, 2007. April Haar indicated Unity Point field day and the Talent Show will be held on May 11, 2007. Lori James-Gross welcomed newly elected Board members.

Andy Morgan made the motion, seconded by Gene Turk to adjourn the meeting at 8:28 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Pieter Schmidt, President	
Rick Asaturian Secretary	