MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, April 14, 2009, 7:12 p.m.

Gene Turk administered the Oath of Office to newly elected board members Andy Morgan, Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Morteza Daneshdoost, Rick Asaturian and Danny Chester.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 7:12 p.m. by the president pro-tempore, Gene Turk, with the following members present: Gene Turk, Andy Morgan, Rick Asaturian, Danny Chester, Morteza Daneshdoost, and Molly Gaffney-Keebler. Others present were Lori James-Gross, April Haar, Bill Laser, Pam Stevenson, Susan Pimentel, Mike Wright, and Susan Culton.

Nominations were opened for President of the Board of Education.

Gene Turk nominated Andy Morgan as President of the Board of Education. There being no other nominations, Andy Morgan was elected President by acclamation.

Nominations were opened for Vice President of the Board of Education.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler nominated Rick Asaturian as Vice President of the Board of Education. There being no other nominations, Rick Asaturian was elected Vice President by acclamation.

Nominations were opened for Secretary of the Board of Education.

Gene Turk nominated Molly Gaffney-Keebler as Secretary of the Board of Education. There being no other nominations, Molly Gaffney-Keebler was elected Secretary by acclamation.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to set meeting dates on the second Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to adopt Board Policies as established by the previous Board of Education. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve the Agenda. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross provided an overview of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA), copy attached. Stimulus funding to Illinois and public schools will impact GSA, IDEA and Title I thru 9-30-11. Funds are supplemental and will be used for server upgrades initially.

Bill Laser presented the Quarterly Financial Report, per attached.

A motion was made by Morteza Daneshdoost, seconded my Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the Intergovernmental Agreement with the COPE Safe Schools Program for the 2009-2010 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Gene Turk to approve the Student Teacher Resolution with SIU for the 2009-2010 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross presented proposed snack language changes for the Unity Point School Wellness Policy, per attached. The changes will be reviewed and discussed at the May 12, 2009 regular board meeting.

BOARD MINUTES April 14, 2009 Page 2

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to replace the A/C units and unit ventilators in the 1986 addition, per attached proposal from HSG Mechanical Contractors, Inc. contingent upon a second proposal not being received by April 24, 2009. Motion carried 5-1-0 with votes as follows: Asaturian – yea, Chester – yea, Daneshdoost – yea, Gaffney-Keebler – yea, Morgan – yea, Turk – nay.

Lori James-Gross presented for review the Board Committee Function Statements, per attached.

April Haar presented current enrollment figures, per attached.

A motion was made by Gene Turk, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to adjourn the Board for an Executive Session to consider information regarding the appointment, employment or dismissal of an employee or officer at 8:17 p.m. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to resume regular session at 8:40 p.m. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to approve the minutes of the April 14, 2009 Executive Session meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve Luke Fleisher's request for paternity leave to begin approximately May 20, 2009 and continue through the end of the school year; and to approve the request from staff members to take a SIU course for graduate credit. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to release executive session minutes dated January 13, 2009, December 9, 2008 and November 18, 2008. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to honorably reduce-in-force Katie Rowland as Pre-K Aide, Sharon Wilson as K-2 Aide and Emily Hookham as Pre-K Aide (part-time) for the 2009-2010 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Andy Morgan to re-employ Kay Tennill, Kim Lillig and Lisa DiBiase as part-time non-tenured certified staff for the 2009-2010 school year, per Lori James-Gross recommendation. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

April Haar expressed appreciation to Luke Fleisher for the success of the spring concert recently held; the band and chorus team placed 1st at a recent contest; Unity Point School will host the talent show along with Taste of Unity Point on April 30, 2009; and Unity Point recently hosted the Illinois Teacher of the Year.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Andy Morgan to adjourn the meeting at 8:58 p.m. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan, President