## MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, April 14, 2009, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Pieter Schmidt, with the following members present: Pieter Schmidt, Andy Morgan, Rick Asaturian, Sandy Charlson, Morteza Daneshdoost, Molly Gaffney-Keebler and Gene Turk. Others present were Lori James-Gross, April Haar, Bill Laser, Jeff Shillinger, Dawn Leahy, Pam Stevenson, Cassie Meyer, Amanda Hilt, Susan Pimentel, Vicki Mogharreban, Samantha Hunt, Leslie Varble, Mike Wright, Susan Culton, Hannah Schmidt, Lisa Schmidt, Steve Murphy, Keli Ross, Bruce Shingleton and Danny Chester.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Pieter Schmidt to adopt the Agenda with one additional item of correspondence. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the minutes of the March 17, 2009 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Pieter Schmidt recognized guests and visitors that were present.

Andy Morgan made the motion, seconded by Pieter Schmidt to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross expressed condolences to Kathy Harasimowicz and Pixie Vaughn. Correspondence was received from Luke Fleisher requesting paternity leave; a thank you note was received from Amy Bergman expressing appreciation for the baby gift; correspondence was received indicating Kathy Fuller is a finalist for the 2008 Illinois History Teacher of the Year; correspondence was received listing the 2009 Regional Science Fair Winners; correspondence was received recognizing band and chorus contest participants; correspondence was received recognizing Ulli Tragoudas as a recipient of the Interagency Nutrition Council Community Partnership Award; correspondence was received from the American Association of University Women recognizing three art contest winners; correspondence was received from IASB regarding board member summer workshops; and a SIU course approval request was received from several staff to take a SIU class for graduate credit.

Vicki Mogharreban reviewed the proposed changes for the Family Circle Program for the 2009-2010 school year as presented at the March 17, 2009 regular board meeting. It was the consensus of the Board to move forward with the suggested changes.

Samantha Hunt, Amanda Hilt, Cassie Meyer and April Haar provided an overview of the Positive Behaviors Interventions Support (PBIS) program. Unity Point School is in the 2<sup>nd</sup> year of the 3-5 year implementation period.

Sandy Charlson left at 6:42 p.m.

Pieter Schmidt reviewed the process for seating of new board members. Final comments were heard.

Gene Turk was appointed President Pro-Tempore by Pieter Schmidt. Bill Laser was appointed Secretary Pro-Tempore by Pieter Schmidt. Pieter Schmidt was recognized as retiring board member with a short reception following.

Pieter Schmidt made the motion, seconded by Gene Turk to adjourn the meeting sine die at 6:58 p.m. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.