MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, June 9, 2009, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Andy Morgan, with the following members present: Andy Morgan, Rick Asaturian, Sandy Charlson, Morteza Daneshdoost, Molly Gaffney-Keebler and Danny Chester. Others present were Lori James-Gross, April Haar, Jim Berezow, Bill Laser, Matt Hickam, Izetta Wiggs, and Mike Wright.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the Agenda. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the minutes of the May 19, 2009 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan recognized guests and visitors that were present.

Sandy Charlson made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Izetta Wiggs read her letter of resignation, expressing appreciation for 11 years at Unity Point School. Lori James-Goss presented letters of request from April Haar, Julie VanWinkle, and Alma Gomez to have their children attend Unity Point School. Correspondence was received from Jenny Bourque and Kimberly Lillig requesting maternity leave.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to accept the resignation from Izetta Wiggs as a first grade teacher, effective immediately, with thanks for a job well done; to accept the requests from April Haar, Julie VanWinkle and Alma Gomez for their children to attend Unity Point School for the 2009-2010 school year; and to accept the requests from Jenny Bourque and Kimberly Lillig for maternity leave, per attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Jim Berezow and April Haar presented additional changes to the 2009-2010 Student/Parent Handbook, per attached, with final approval at the July 14, 2009 regular meeting.

Gene Turk arrived at 6:26 p.m.

Matt Hickam, Administrative Intern, presented for review the 2009-2010 Non-Certified Staff Handbook, per attached, with final approval at the July 14, 2009 regular meeting.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to adopt the Prevailing Wage Ordinance for the 2009-2010 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to adopt the Illinois Energy Consortium Natural Gas Agreement beginning the 2009-2010 school year, per attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

April Haar presented current enrollment figures and a list of summer activities, per attached.

A motion was made by Morteza Daneshdoost, seconded by Rick Asaturian to adjourn the Board for an Executive Session to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of specific employees of the public body and to consider the purchase or lease of real property for the use of the public body at 7:04 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

BOARD MINUTES June 9, 2009 Page 2

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Gene Turk to resume regular session at 8:15 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to approve the minutes of the June 9, 2009 Executive Session meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Sandy Charlson made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler, to approve the non-renewal of employment for Jesse Crow and Brian Woodard as boys basketball coaches for the 2009-2010 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Andy Morgan, to proceed with renting adjacent property to Unity Point School contingent upon a June 30, 2009 closing on the sale of said property. Motion carried 6-1 with votes as follows: Asaturian-yea, Charlson-yea, Chester-yea, Daneshdoost-yea, Gaffney-Keebler-yea, Morgan-yea, Turk-nea.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost, to approve a 2.75% base salary increase for non-certified personnel and a \$1750 salary increase for each administrator for the 2009-2010 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Mike Wright of the U.P.E.A. verified the August 11, 2009 regular board meeting will be the last date for staff to request their children attend Unity Point tuition free if residing out of District.

Jim Berezow indicated he attended the KFVS Heartlands' Best dinner for Samantha Hunt in Cape Girardeau, MO recently.

April Haar expressed appreciation for the PTO's involvement this year plus their assistance with Field Day. She also indicated Kathy Fuller has been nominated as Illinois History Teacher of the Year.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to adjourn the meeting at 8:29 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan, President

Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Secretary