MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, May 19, 2009, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Andy Morgan, with the following members present: Andy Morgan, Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Rick Asaturian, Gene Turk, Danny Chester, Sandy Charlson and Morteza Daneshdoost. Others present were Lori James-Gross, April Haar, Bill Laser, Elisa Jaros, Pam Stevenson, Holly Wyne, Vicki Mogharreban, Christa Green, Aaron Green, Mike Wright, Alma Gomez, Maria Trapani, Megan Cross, Mike Blair, Kenny Lindsay, Marcy Lindsay, Jon Stewart, Winona Bilderback, AJ Chester, Tim Ward, Sharon Wilson, Beth Stearns, Kip Hagler, Susan Culton, Melissa Steeb, Janet Walker, Susan Pimentel, Paul Hagler and Dan Walker.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the Agenda with no consideration of resignation of first grade teacher under "Employment Issues." Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve the minutes of the April 14, 2009 regular meeting(s), copies attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan recognized guests and visitors that were present.

A motion was made by Morteza Daneshdoost, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Correspondence was received from Kathy Harasimowicz/Station Carbondale expressing appreciation for the donation in memory of Allan Harasimowicz; a thank you note was received from Teresa Snyder expressing appreciation for the baby gift received; a letter was received from Emily Hookham indicating her resignation as teacher aide effective May 23, 2009; a letter was received from Ginger Staples indicating her resignation as teacher aide and assistant girls basketball coach effective June 4, 2009; and letters were received from Kerry Glenn, Samantha Hunt and Jill Misner requesting approval for graduate course credit.

Lori James-Gross presented an update on the storm damage that occurred on May 8, 2009 including the dismissal of children following the storm and cleanup status. The last day of school will now be June 5, 2009.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the revised snack policy, as presented by Lori James-Gross. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross presented information concerning AED updates and training. Updates cost approximately \$1300. April Haar reviewed proposed revisions to the 2009-2010 Student/Parent Handbook; presented current enrollment figures per attached; reviewed the proposed Non-Certified Staff Handbook; reviewed the special education performance report, per attached; presented the Unity Point PTO after-school theatre program proposal; and presented information regarding the mentoring program including a letter by Tammy Bailey-Smith. Maria Trapani, Alma Gomez and Megan Cross also commented on their experience with the mentoring program.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to select UnitedHealthcare as student accident insurance carrier for the 2009-2010 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross presented the Facility Committee report concerning maintenance projects to be completed, per attached.

BOARD MINUTES May 19, 2009 Page 2

A motion was made by Gene Turk, seconded by Sandy Charlson to adjourn the Board for an Executive Session to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of specific employees of the public body; to consider the purchase or lease of real property for the use of the public body; and to consider the self-evaluation, practices and procedures of the Board of Education at 7:12 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to resume regular session at 10:22 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to dismiss Kenny Lindsay from all duties related to driving a bus. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Morteza Daneshdoost, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to reinstate Kenny Lindsay's employment as full-time custodian, effective May 20, 2009, with a letter of reprimand to be placed in his personnel file. Motion carried 6-1 with votes as follows: Asaturian-yea, Charlson-yea, Chester-yea, Daneshdoost-yea, Gaffney-Keebler-yea, Morgan-yea, Turk-nea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to accept the resignations of Emily Hookam, pre-k aide, effective May 23, 2009; and Ginger Staples, instructional aide/coach, effective end of the 2008-2009 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to reemploy Sharon Wilson as K-2 instructional aide; employ Michelle Pritchard as Pre-K family educator; and employ Elisa Jaros and Holly Wyne as Pre-K teachers for the 2009-2010 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Molly Gaffney-Keebler, seconded by Sandy Charlson to reassign Mary Terpinitz to an instructional aide position for the 2009-2010 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to authorize the purchase of property adjacent to the school that currently includes a parking lot leased to Unity Point School. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve summer school course requests by Jill Misner, Kerry Glenn and Samantha Hunt. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Gene Turk, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the minutes of the May 19, 2009 Executive Session meeting. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Mike Wright of the U.P.E.A. recognized the importance of professional development for certified staff along with cooperation between the staff and administration.

Lori James-Gross indicated graduation will be held on May 28, 2009. Congratulations were extended to Samantha Hunt for receiving KFVS Channel 12 Heartland's Best Teachers Class of 2009 award; and to Mike Blair's recent State Science Fair winners.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to adjourn the meeting at 10:32 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.