MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, November 18, 2008, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Pieter Schmidt, with the following members present: Pieter Schmidt, Andy Morgan, Rick Asaturian, Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Sandy Charlson, Morteza Daneshdoost and Gene Turk. Others present were Lori James-Gross, April Haar, Bill Laser, Billy Oploh, Bob Sanders, Susan Pimentel, Mike Williams, Sharon Williams, Bea Geraci, Trisha Earll, Dan Chester, A. J. Chester, Mike Wright, Steve Murphy, Alisa Simpson, Susan Culton and Kitty Campbell.

Andy Morgan made the motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to approve the Agenda. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the minutes of the October 14, 2008 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 6-0-1 with votes as follows: Asaturian-yea, Charlson-yea, Daneshdoost-yea, Gaffney-Keebler-yea, Morgan-yea, Schmidt-yea, Turk-abstain.

Pieter Schmidt recognized guests and visitors that were present.

Andy Morgan made the motion, seconded by Gene Turk to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Correspondence was received indicating a notice of renewal for National Board Certification for Rebecca Borowitz. A note of appreciation was received from the Family of Joey Kelly and IASB Conference information packets were distributed to the Board.

A Public Hearing was held concerning the 2008 Tax Levy.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Pieter Schmidt to adopt the 2008 Tax Levy; Certificate of Compliance with the Truth in Taxation Act and PTELL Resolution, per attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Pieter Schmidt made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to adopt the Resolution Concerning Serious Safety Hazard Finding for the 2008-2009 school year, per attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to adopt the updated Board Policy Manual including the revised policy for Educational Support Staff (5:330). Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Alisa Simpson presented the application for the School Library Per Capita Grant for the 2008-2009 school year. She also gave an update on the Media Center and its progress towards meeting Illinois Standards for school library media centers.

April Haar presented current enrollment figures per attached and current ESL figures per attached. Michael Blair was recently awarded the LEAP Grant for \$497.90; Tom Harness was invited by SIU to be part of the Teacher Education Advisory Council; Tammy Bailey-Smith was invited to the National Mentoring Conference by the IEA to be held in Washington, D.C.; and Chris Midden helped plan the SMART Grant leading to a specialist designation in science and math.

A motion was made by Pieter Schmidt, seconded by Andy Morgan to adjourn the Board for an Executive Session to consider information regarding the appointment, employment or dismissal of an employee or officer at 7:05 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

## BOARD MINUTES PAGE 2 November 18, 2008

carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to resume regular session at 8:33 p.m. Motion

Pieter Schmidt made the motion, seconded by Andy Morgan to approve the minutes of the November 18, 2008 Executive Session meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross indicated Parent Teacher Conferences are scheduled for November 20, 2008 from 4:00 – 8:00 p.m.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to adjourn the meeting at 8:36 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

| Pieter | Schmidt | , Preside | nt |  |
|--------|---------|-----------|----|--|
|        |         |           |    |  |
|        |         |           |    |  |
|        |         |           |    |  |
|        |         |           |    |  |