MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, March 16, 2010, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Andy Morgan, with the following members present: Andy Morgan, Rick Asaturian, Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Gene Turk and Sandy Charlson. Others present were Lori James-Gross, Jim Berezow, April Haar, Bill Laser, Alisa Simpson, Mike Wright, Bea Geraci, Tammy Lipe, Salina Holloway, Chris Midden and Kerry Glenn.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the Agenda with approval of Tri-County Special Education District Resolution for IDEA funding following Correspondence. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the minutes of the February 9, 2010 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Sandy Charlson, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the minutes of the February 24, 2010 special meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan recognized guests and visitors that were present.

Sandy Charlson made the motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Dan Chester arrived at 6:05 p.m.

Lori James-Gross indicated Unity Point was recently selected by the ISBE as a 2009 Spotlight School. Unity Point was awarded a Title II-D Enhancing Education through Technology Grant in the amount of \$675,000. A thank you note was received from John Longueville expressing appreciation for flowers received during a recent hospital stay.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the Resolution with Tri-County Special Education District regarding IDEA funding. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Gene Turk, seconded by Dan Chester to amend the 2009-2010 School Calendar to include June 1, 2010 as the last day of school with graduation on May 20, 2010, per attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Sandy Charlson made the motion, seconded by Dan Chester to approve the proposed 2010-2011 School Calendar, per attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

April Haar presented current enrollment figures per attached. Pre-registration packets will be mailed soon for the 2010-2011 school year.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to adjourn the Board for an Executive Session to consider information regarding the appointment, employment or dismissal of an employee or officer at 6:16 p.m. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Sandy Charlson, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to resume regular session at 8:30 p.m. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Dan Chester to approve the minutes of the March 16, 2010 Executive Session meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

BOARD MINUTES March 16, 2010 Page 2

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to grant tenure to Kathy Harasimowicz, Salina Holloway, Samantha Hunt, Amanda Hilt, Stephanie Gugle, Jennifer Bourque, Peggy Ebbs and Rebecca Korb, per Lori James-Gross recommendation. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross recommended non-tenured faculty Luke Fleisher, Tom Harness, Melanie Spears and Lindsay Townsend be reemployed for a fourth year. No motion was made.

A motion was made by Molly Gaffney-Keebler, seconded by Sandy Charlson to take individual votes on each non-tenured faculty member to be reemployed for a fourth year as follows: Luke Fleisher 6-0; Tom Harness 0-6; Melanie Spears 6-0; Lindsay Townsend 6-0.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to reemploy Teresa Snyder and Maria Trapani as third year non-tenured faculty. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to reemploy Holly Wyne as second year non-tenured faculty. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Molly Gaffney-Keebler, seconded by Rick Asaturian to change the employment status of Kenny Watson from part-time to full-time for the 2010-2011 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Dan Chester to reemploy Kay Tennill and Lisa Dibiase as part-time, non-tenured faculty for the 2010-2011 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Dan Chester to allow the Administration to begin negotiations with the U.P.E.A. for the 2010-2011 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Jim Berezow indicated Honors Night will be held on May 18 and graduation on May 20, 2010. April Haar indicated a mini relay for life will be held on May 21, 2010 for field day activities.

The Board congratulated Bea Geraci for securing the Title II-D Enhancing Education through Technology Grant.

A motion was made by Sandy Charlson, seconded by Dan Chester to adjourn the meeting at 8:43 p.m. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.