MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, May 11, 2010, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by president, Andy Morgan, with the following members present: Andy Morgan, Rick Asaturian, Dan Chester, Morteza Daneshdoost, Molly Gaffney-Keebler, and Gene Turk. Others present were Lori James-Gross, April Haar, Bill Laser, Mike Wright, Alisa Simpson, Salina Holloway, and Kara Dunkel.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the Agenda with a request to move Speech Pathologist Proposal to Executive Session. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Dan Chester to approve the minutes of the April 13, 2010 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 5-0-1 with votes as follows: Asaturian-yea, Chester-yea, Daneshdoost-yea, Gaffney-Keebler-yea, Morgan-yea, Turk-abstain.

Andy Morgan recognized guests and visitors that were present.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Correspondence was received from the Illinois PBIS Network choosing Unity Point as a PBIS Legislative site visit location; resignation letters were received from Samantha Hunt as cheerleading sponsor, Christine Mattingly as yearbook co-sponsor; and Bobbi Jackson as library aide.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to accept the resignations effective end of the 2009-2010 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to accept the request from Ulli Tragoudas for her children to attend Unity Point School as non-resident pupils for the 2010-2011 school year, per attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross read a letter from the State Superintendent regarding the current status of state funding.

Lori James-Gross presented the 2010 Health Life Safety inspection report, per attached.

Lori James-Gross indicated the Fresh Fruits and Vegetables Grant will not be funded for the 2010-2011 school year. A reduction-in-force of a part-time non-certified kitchen position will be needed.

April Haar presented current enrollment figures, per attached. The projected 2010-2011 school year enrollment is on track. Revisions to the 2010-2011 Student-Parent Handbook were presented.

Lori James-Gross presented the Kidz Klub Handbook/Contract revisions and the summer calendar of events, per attached, which includes a basketball and softball camp.

A motion was made by Dan Chester, seconded by Rick Asaturian to adjourn the Board for an Executive Session to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the public body and to discuss contract negotiations at 6:45 p.m. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Dan Chester made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to resume regular session at 8:23 p.m. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

BOARD MINUTES May 11, 2010 Page 2

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve the minutes of the May 11, 2010 Executive Session meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Gene Turk to reduce in force Mary Williams, part-time cook, due to the loss of the Fresh Fruits and Vegetable Grant for the 2010-2011 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Dan Chester to involuntarily transfer Kathy Fuller to the computer teacher position and Samantha Hunt to the Jr. High Social Studies position for the 2010-2011 school year. Salina Holloway will remain as a 5th grade teacher. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Dan Chester to re-employ Elisa Jaros as Pre-Kindergarten teacher for the 2010-2011 school year. Amy Bergman will remain as a Kindergarten teacher. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Dan Chester made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to reclassify Karla Blair to full-time secretary effective for the 2010-2011 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to reclassify Lisa DiBiase as a full-time speech pathologist for the 2010-2011 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Mike Wright of the U.P.E.A. inquired about the health insurance discussion to be held at the May 12, 2010 staff meeting; staff changes for the 2010-2011 school year; and student discipline issues.

April Haar discussed several end-of-year events and the May 28th retirement party coming up for Jim Berezow.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to adjourn the meeting at 8:36 p.m. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan, President	Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Secretary