## MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, April 12, 2011, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the vicepresident, Rick Asaturian, with the following members present: Rick Asaturian, Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Gene Turk, Dan Chester, Sandy Charlson and Morteza Daneshdoost. Others present were Lori James-Gross, Bill Laser, Mike Wright, Tim Ward, Tom Upton, Alisa Simpson, Kimberly Wright, Lindsey Duke and Larry Sefrev.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the Agenda. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Sandy Charlson made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve the minutes of the March 8, 2011 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian recognized guests and visitors that were present.

A motion was made by Dan Chester, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Correspondence was read by Lori James-Gross from Jennifer Bourque and Samantha Owens (Hunt) indicating their resignations effective the end of the 2010-2011 school year. Correspondence was received from Katie Acray requesting a maternity leave beginning May 2, 2011 and continuing through the end of the school year. Correspondence was received regarding the IASB Summer Governing meeting to be held on May 5, 2011.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the resignations and maternity leave request as presented. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Bill Laser presented the fourth quarter financial report, per attached. Lori James-Gross presented information regarding the State budget. The State is projecting a \$700 million decrease in school funding for the 2011-2012 school year.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the Intergovernmental Agreement with ROE 30/COPE Safe Schools for the 2011-2012 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Morteza Daneshdoost, seconded by Gene Turk to approve the Resolution with SIU-Carbondale to accept student teachers for the 2011-2012 school year. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

It was the consensus to request bids for property/casualty insurance for a three year period beginning July 1, 2011.

Lori James-Gross presented an update on the recent Board election. There was a tie vote between Morteza Daneshdoost and Tom Upton. The County Clerk will break the tie on April 19, 2011. A special board meeting will be held on Thursday, April 21, 2011 at 6:00 p.m. to seat the new board members.

Lori James-Gross presented the current enrollment report, per attached. The proposed Athletic Handbook for 2011-2012 was presented. Twenty-seven students recently participated in the Regional Science Fair with seventeen advancing to State competition. Nine students recently participated in the Regional History Fair with two advancing to State competition. Ten fifth grade National Young Scholars will be participating in an academic/leadership conference at Northern Illinois University this summer. Two eighth grade students were recognized by the Illinois Principals Association for outstanding academic achievement. A sixth grade student placed second in the Southern Illinois Reading Council short story contest. Seven junior high students were winners in the "Power to Dream" art contest recently held at SIU-Carbondale.

Junior high band and choral students received very high ratings at the IGSMA District 3 music contest recently held with the junior high choir receiving the highest rating awarded. Unity Point School was awarded a School Energy Efficiency Grant (matching) in the amount of \$106,250. Unity Point was selected as one of six schools in Illinois to participate in the Teachscape Project. Teachers are videotaped to develop evaluation standards for the Charlotte Danielson evaluation framework model.

Gene Turk departed at 6:40 p.m.

Alisa Simpson presented a video of the recent student trip to France over Spring Break.

Sandy Charlson made the motion, seconded by Dan Chester to adjourn the meeting at 6:51 p.m. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan, President

Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Secretary