MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, May 10, 2011, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Andy Morgan, with the following members present: Andy Morgan, Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Gene Turk, Dan Chester, Sandy Charlson and Morteza Daneshdoost. Others present were Lori James-Gross, April Haar, Bill Laser, Mike Wright, Tim Ward, Shardeneem White, Brianna Lopez and Andrew Fruth.

Sandy Charlson made the motion, seconded by Dan Chester to approve the Agenda without consideration of student disciplinary hearing in Executive Session. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve the minutes of the April 12, 2011 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Gene Turk, seconded by Dan Chester to approve the minutes of the April 21, 2011 special meetings, copies attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan recognized guests and visitors that were present. Rick Asaturian arrived at 6:03 p.m.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross indicated correspondence was received from Ron Rogers resigning as head volleyball coach and Josh Davis resigning as computer technology specialist effective end of the 2010-2011 school year. Correspondence was received from Jodi Karcher requesting her child attend Unity Point as a non-resident pupil for the 2011-2012 school year.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve the resignations of Ron Rogers and Josh Davis; and the request for non-resident student attendance for the 2011-2012 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Correspondence was received from Tamaroa School District and Diane Rudolph of JALC expressing appreciation for the recent visits to Unity Point School. Correspondence was received from the Boampong-Sapong family expressing appreciation for services received by their child during his time at Unity Point School. Lori James-Gross indicated Mike Blair has been selected to present at the IMSA Fusion symposium on July 12, 2011 in Springfield, IL.

A motion was made by Morteza Daneshdoost, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to select M&H Insurance Agency (Selective Insurance Co.) as agent for property/casualty insurance for a three year period beginning July 1, 2011. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the 2011-2012 Athletic Handbook as presented by April Haar. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

April Haar presented the 2011-2012 Student/Parent Handbook for review and approval at the regular June Board meeting. Ms. Haar also presented a list of end-of-year activities, the current enrollment report, and FY12 enrollment projections per attached. Correspondence was received from the ISBE designating Unity Point School as meeting requirements of IDEA concerning special education services provided to students.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to adjourn the Board for an Executive Session to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of specific employees of the public body at 6:53 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Rick Asaturian, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to resume regular session at 7:40 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the minutes of the May 10, 2011 Executive Session meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to grant tenure to Lisa Dibiase for the 2011-2012 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Morteza Daneshdoost, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to employ Brynn Freed as kindergarten reading teacher for the 2011-2012 school year, contingent upon proper certification. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Gene Turk made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to employ Andrew Fruth as EOC aide, head boys basketball coach and assistant baseball coach (split position) for the 2011-2012 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Dan Chester made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to employ Jermaine Gill as assistant baseball coach (split position); Amy Bruce as head volleyball coach and assistant girls basketball coach; and Crystal Phillips as assistant volleyball coach for the 2011-2012 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Morteza Daneshdoost, seconded by Sandy Charlson to adjourn the meeting at 7:45 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan, President

Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Secretary