MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, March 6, 2012, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Andy Morgan, with the following members present: Andy Morgan, Rick Asaturian, Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Sandy Charlson and Morteza Daneshdoost. Others present were Lori James-Gross, April Haar, Bill Laser, Kelli Vancil, Karla Burke, Amanda Hilt, Kerry Glenn and Mike Wright.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve the Agenda with an update from Lori James-Gross on a recent IASA divisional meeting recently attended following Correspondence. The Principal's evaluation will be considered at the regular April meeting. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve the minutes of the February 14, 2012 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan recognized guests and visitors that were present.

A motion was made by Sandy Charlson, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Discussion was held concerning community flyers recently approved by the administration. Correspondence was received from Autumn Allen indicating her resignation as cheerleading coach effective immediately.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to accept the resignation of Autumn Allen as cheerleading coach. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross presented an update from the IASA divisional meeting recently attended. Topics discussed included current legislative updates, TRS changes, District efficiency ratings and administrative evaluations.

It was the consensus of the Board to cancel the March 20, 2012 regular meeting since there are no recommendations for reduction-in-force for the 2012-13 school year. The Board/Community retreat will be held on Saturday, June 9, 2012 from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. in the Unity Point library.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to amend the 2011-2012 School Calendar with the last day of school being May 24; the final Teacher's Institute being May 23 and eighth grade graduation to be held on May 17, 2012. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Morteza Daneshdoost, seconded by Sandy Charlson to approve the proposed School Calendar for the 2012-2013 school year. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

April Haar presented current enrollment figures per attached. She also presented a 2012-2013 registration update. Amanda Hilt and Kerry Glenn presented information regarding flexible ability grouping vs. traditional tracking of students in the classroom.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to adjourn the Board for an Executive Session to consider the appointment, employment or dismissal of an employee or officer at 7:25 p.m. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to resume regular session at 7:40 p.m. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

BOARD MINUTES March 6, 2012 Page 2

A motion was made by Molly Gaffney-Keebler, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve the minutes of the March 6, 2012 Executive Session meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to grant tenure to Teresa Snyder and Maria Trapani for the 2012-2013 school year, per Lori James-Gross recommendation. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Sandy Charlson to re-employ Elisa Jaros, Ginger Staples and Holly Wyne as 4<sup>th</sup> year, non-tenured certified staff for the 2012-2013 school year, per Lori James-Gross recommendation. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

A motion was made by Sandy Charlson, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to re-employ Omero Anguiano, Amy Bruce, Brynn Freed and Brett Pinnon as 2<sup>nd</sup> year, non-tenured certified staff for the 2012-2013 school year, per Lori James-Gross recommendation. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Molly Gaffney-Keebler made the motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to re-employ Kay Tennill and Brenda Jones as part-time certified staff for the 2012-2013 school year, per Lori James-Gross recommendation. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Discussion was held with Mike Wright of the U.P.E.A. regarding contract negotiations.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to adjourn the meeting at 7:55 p.m. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Andy N	Iorgan, l	Preside	nt	
•	<b>C</b> ,			