## MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Tuesday, September 25, 2012, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Andy Morgan, with the following members present: Andy Morgan, Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Sandy Charlson, Dan Chester, Morteza Daneshdoost and Gene Turk. Others present were Lori James-Gross, April Haar, Bill Laser, and Becky Borowitz.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the Agenda. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Dan Chester made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the minutes of the September 11, 2012 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan recognized guests and visitors that were present.

Correspondence was received from Katie Diel expressing appreciation for the baby gift recently received and discussion was held concerning community flyers recently approved by the Administration.

A Budget Hearing was held concerning the 2012-2013 School District Budget.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Dan Chester to adopt the 2012-2013 School District Budget as presented by Bill Laser. Motion carried 5-1 with votes as follows: Charlson-yea, Chester-yea, Daneshdoost-yea, Gaffney-Keebler-yea, Morgan-yea, Turk-nea.

Dan Chester made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to begin planning for the distribution of information explaining a proposed referendum for a limited rate increase for operational purposes on the April 2013 ballot. Motion carried 6-0 with all voting yea.

Discussion was held regarding the proposed Illinois County School Facility tax for Jackson County. Area superintendents will meet October 4, 2012 to see if interest is there to move forward with a referendum on the April 2013 ballot.

Rick Asaturian arrived at 6:35 p.m.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Molly Gaffney-Keebler to approve the Administrator and Teacher Salary and Benefits report for the 2011-2012 school year. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Dan Chester to adjourn the meeting at 6:44 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Andy Morgan, President

Molly Gaffney-Keebler, Secretary