MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Thursday, April 13, 2017, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Suzanne Sanders, with the following members present: Craig Davis, D.W. Presley, Suzanne Sanders and Tom Upton. Others present were Lori James-Gross, Deborah Gurley, Kerry Glenn, Bill Laser, Chris Midden, Maria Deaton, Amanda Hilt, Salina Holloway, Susan Murphy, Pam Stevenson, Mary Beth Goff, Leslie Varble, Sean Patrick, Chuck Cates and Wendy Cates.

D. W. Presley made the motion, seconded by Craig Davis to approve the Agenda as presented. Motion carried 4-0 with all voting yea.

Craig Davis made the motion, seconded by D. W. Presley to approve the minutes of the March 20, 2017, regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 4-0 with all voting yea.

Suzanne Sanders recognized guests and visitors that were present. Chuck Cates expressed concerns regarding Kellie Haak's non-renewal of employment.

D. W. Presley made the motion, seconded by Suzanne Sanders to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 4-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross indicated a letter of resignation was received from Brett Pinnon as 5/6 grade P.E. Teacher and Softball Coach, effective end of the 2016-17 school year. A letter of resignation was received from Tim Ward as Program Aide; Athletic Director; and Girls Basketball Coach effective April 21, 2017, but will work Mondays and Fridays until the end of the 2016-17 school year. A letter of congratulations to Kristie Grimmer was received from The Meemic Foundation's For Our Schools Grant for a grant recently awarded to Unity Point. A thank you note was received from JoVonna Noble expressing appreciation for the plant received during the recent death in the family.

Rick Asaturian arrived at 6:10 p.m.

Tom Upton made the motion, seconded by Craig Davis to approve the resignations from Brett Pinnon and Tim Ward. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by D. W. Presley to approve May 2, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. as the date for a special meeting to seat new board members. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Maria Deaton, Amanda Hilt, Salina Holloway, Chris Midden, Susan Murphy and Sean Patrick presented data assessment utilization techniques used in the 5th/6th grade classrooms. Lori James-Gross presented current enrollment figures, per attached; and a 2017-18 registration update. There were no suspensions to report. Kerry Glenn presented a student honors and awards update, per attached.

Bill Laser and Lori James-Gross presented the 3rd quarter financial report and State budget update.

Bids have been requested for property/casualty insurance for a 3 year period beginning July 1, 2017. Quotes have been requested for the supply of electricity for a 3 year period beginning June 1, 2017.

Lori James-Gross presented the first reading of PRESS Policies update with final approval at the May 11, 2017 regular meeting.

Craig Davis made the motion, seconded by D. W. Presley to approve the Memorandum of Understanding with Centerstone Behavioral Services for the 2017-18 school year. They have received a grant that will provide a counselor on-site, five hours per day, five days per week at Unity Point. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross presented information concerning lead testing in water requirements, per recently passed legislation.

- D. W. Presley presented for discussion a Board sponsored employee recognition program for employees prior to retirement. Also considered was a program to submit for recognition any specific accomplishment by an employee. IASB has been contacted for assistance with employee recognition programs.
- D. W. Presley made a motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to adjourn the Board for an Executive Session at 6:40 p.m. to consider the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of specific employees of the public body; and to consider the Superintendent's evaluation and fulfillment of the board vacancy. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.
- D.W. Presley made the motion, seconded by Craig Davis to resume regular session at 7:42 p.m. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.
- D. W. Presley made the motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to approve the minutes of the April 13, 2017 Executive Session meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Tom Upton to approve the Superintendent's Evaluation for the 2016-17 school year. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Rick Asaturian made the motion, seconded by Suzanne Sanders to accept the resignation of Eric Jung as board member effective April 13, 2017. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Craig Davis made the motion, seconded by Tom Upton to employ Leslie Varble as Principal for Instruction (12 month) and Mary Beth Goff as Dean of Students (10 month), effective July 1, 2017, contingent upon proper certification, per Lori James-Gross recommendation. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

- D. W. Presley made the motion, seconded by Rick Asaturian to approve the voluntary transfer of Kerry Glenn from Principal for Instruction to 5/6 Math; the involuntary transfer of Sean Patrick from 5/6 Math to 3rd grade; and the involuntary transfer of James Lockhart from 3rd grade to 3/4 Resource. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.
- D. W. Presley made the motion, seconded by Craig Davis to reemploy Sarah Robbins 1st grade, Kristen Grimmer 2nd grade and Stephanie Feeman 3rd grade as 4th year full-time non-tenured teachers for the 2017-18 school year; to reemploy Dulce Garcia Kindergarten, Penny Burnside Multiage, Kerri Clayton K-8 Computer teacher, and James Lockhart –3/4 Resource teacher as 3rd year full-time non-tenured teachers for the 2017-18 school year; to reemploy Megan Geelan Pre-K teacher, Joanna Lee Pre-K teacher, Nikki Schumacher K-2 Special Education Resource teacher, Sean Patrick 3rd grade teacher, Tracy Laughard –

BOARD MINUTES April 13, 2017 Page 3

K-8 Art teacher, Christine Evans – K-8 Special Education Behavior Specialist, Tabitha Nolan – K-8 Media Specialist, Adrienne Hardwig – Jr. High Literature teacher, Nicole Jackson – Jr. High Science teacher, Jeremy Marshall – Jr. High Special Education Resource teacher as 2nd year full-time non-tenured teachers for the 2017-18 school year; and to reemploy Tonya Chapman – K-3 Music and Brenda Jones – Administrative Assistant as part-time certified staff for the 2017-18 school year. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

D. W. Presley departed the meeting at 7:47 p.m.

Discussion was held concerning the student graduation roster and board participation at graduation. There will be a retirement celebration on May 30, 2017 for Deborah Gurley and Betty Fager. Stephanie Feeman recently won a \$1,000 classroom grant and Chris Midden recently won an IDNR grant for water testing.

Craig Davis made a motion, seconded by Tom Upton to adjourn the meeting at 8:50 p.m. Motion carried 4-0 with all voting yea.

Suzanne Sanders, President	D. W. Presley, Secretary	