MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Thursday, December 8, 2016, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the president, Suzanne Sanders, with the following members present: Craig Davis, Eric Jung, D. W. Presley, Suzanne Sanders and Tom Upton. Others present were Lori James-Gross, Kerry Glenn, Bill Laser, Kristie Grimmer, Jennifer Musoiu, Rebecca Borowitz, Nikki Schumacher, Chris Midden, Julie VanWinkle, and Charles McCaughan.

Erick Jung made the motion, seconded by D. W. Presley to approve the agenda with Administrative Updates and 2^{nd} grade presentation after Correspondence. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Craig Davis made the motion, seconded by D. W. Presley to approve the minutes of the November 10, 2016, regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 4-0-1 with votes as follows: Davis – yea, Jung – yea, Presley – yea, Upton – yea, Sanders - abstain.

Suzanne Sanders recognized guests and visitors that were present.

Eric Jung made the motion, seconded by D. W. Presley to approve the bills as presented. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross indicated a letter of resignation was received from Erin Bily, Pre-Kindergarten Program Aide; a letter of resignation was received from Jennifer Meredith, Pre-Kindergarten Program Aide; a thank you note was received from Kazuo Yoshida, Mayor of Tainai City, Japan; a letter was received from Illinois Reading Council recognizing Shae Gugle and Amanda Hilt for presentations recently made; and the IASB Shawnee Division Winter meeting will be held on January 7, 2017.

D. W. Presley made the motion, seconded by Tom Upton to accept the resignations from Erin Bily and Jennifer Meredith, effective December 31, 2016. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross presented current enrollment figures and Unity Point student awards and recognitions, per attached.

Kerry Glenn introduced 2nd grade teachers Rebecca Borowitz, Kristie Grimmer, Jennifer Musoiu, along with Nikki Schumacher and Julie VanWinkle, who presented second grade assessment data utilization techniques.

Rick Asaturian arrived at 6:12 p.m.

Morteza Daneshdoost arrived at 6:23 p.m.

Lori James-Gross presented an update on the Jackson County School Facility Tax. By May 1, 2017 voting results must be certified to the State. The sales tax takes effect on July 1, 2017 and beginning November 2017 sales tax revenues will flow to Jackson County school districts.

Bill Laser presented 2017-18 and 2018-19 budget projections, per attached.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Erick Jung to adopt the 2016 Tax Levy; Certificate Regarding Inapplicability of the Truth-in-Taxation Law and PTELL Resolution, per attached. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

D. W. Presley made the motion, seconded by Morteza Daneshdoost to approve the three year audit proposal submitted by Kevin Batteau, CPA. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Lori James-Gross provided for review the first reading of PRESS polices updates including the policy for travel expense reimbursement for employees and board members which must be in place beginning of calendar year 2017.

Discussion was held concerning the IASB sample Superintendent evaluation instruments. It was suggested to have a February/March completion process for the evaluation.

Tom Upton made a motion, seconded by Craig Davis to adjourn the meeting at 7:24 p.m. Motion carried 7-0 with all voting yea.

Suzanne Sanders, President

D. W. Presley, Secretary