MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNITY POINT BOARD OF EDUCATION Thursday, January 11, 2018, 6:00 p.m.

The regular meeting of the Unity Point Board of Education was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by the Vice-President, Craig Davis, with the following members present: Marissa Baxter, Morteza Daneshdoost, Craig Davis, Sylvia Thoms, and Tom Upton. Others present were Lori James-Gross, Bill Laser, Leslie Varble, and Chris Midden.

Morteza Daneshdoost made the motion, seconded by Sylvia Thoms to approve the Agenda without strategic plan update discussion. Dr. Patrick Rice of the IASB will provide information for the regular February 2018 meeting. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Craig Davis made the motion, seconded by Marissa Baxter to approve the minutes of the December 14, 2017 regular meeting, copy attached. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Craig Davis made the motion, seconded by Sylvia Thoms to approve the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

Craig Davis recognized guests and visitors that were present.

Bill Laser and Lori James-Gross presented the 2nd Quarterly Financial Report and Cash and Investments update. Lori James-Gross reported the Governor has signed an amendatory veto of SB444 concerning private school tax credits. As a result the evidence based funding model may now be delayed.

Lori James-Gross presented the 2017-2018 Seniority Lists for certified and non-certified staff for approval at the regular February 2018 meeting, per attached.

The first reading of PRESS Policies Update was presented.

Lori James-Gross presented current enrollment figures, per attached; and discussed 2018-2019 job openings for a Kindergarten teacher, Speech & Language Pathologist and Business Manager.

Leslie Varble presented an IL-Empower Pilot update.

Discussion was held concerning the Superintendent evaluation process. The evaluation instrument is to be submitted to D. W. Presley by January 26, 2018 for discussion at the regular February 2018 meeting.

Morteza Daneshdoost made a motion, seconded by Craig Davis to adjourn the meeting at 6:37 p.m. Motion carried 5-0 with all voting yea.

D. W. Presley, President Marissa Rayter, Secretary		
D. W. I IOSIC V. I IOSIGCIII	D. W. Presley, President	Marissa Baxter, Secretary